Text Size

The Back Of The Net

City Stars

Talk Cleveland City Stars, World Cup, MLS, and all other forms of pro soccer here in TheClevelandFan's newest forum.

Moderators: peeker643, swerb, Spin

City Stars

Unread postby Larvell Blanks » Wed Jun 10, 2009 8:23 am

Went to the game last night (6/9) as my wife's cousin, Akron U product Evan Bush, was starting in goal. I am an admitted soccer novice having only attended CSU games in the late 80's. I found myself getting into the game and understanding the little nuances. Bedford Stadium is a really nice facility and the people involved w/ the City Stars were very accomidating. Lots of giveaways to the fans after the team scores a goal. Chic-fil-a at the consession stands. Even heard an audio ad for TCF.com. The nice thing was after the game, the players come over to the stands to thank the fans. I was holding my 8 month old at the railing talking to Evan when the rest of the team came by to high five the fans. Every player made sure to touch Bryce's hand, which he found absolutely funny. It was a great experience and we have already made plans to attend some more games this year.
Galley Boys are slop on top of a so-so burger and a bun you coulde get from a Covneninet food mart generic pack. They the Antoine Joubert of burgers; soft, sloppy, oozing grease and cheap sauce and extremely overrated by a biased fan base. Proof that if you throw enough cheap sauce shit on a burger you still can't overcome the lame burger. -JB
Larvell Blanks

Favorite Player: Foots Walker
Least Favorite Player: un named sources

Re: City Stars

Unread postby Cease » Wed Jun 10, 2009 10:28 am

I've been to a game in Portland, it was awesome 8000 fans poured in, stood, cheered, carried on with chants and cutting a piece of timber after every goal. That is a perfect socccer market and I'd be surprised if they didn't garner MLS expansion attention.